Image

Part of transitioning from my sleek straight chemically relaxed hair to my kinky coily spirals was embracing BIG HAIR. Let me just start by saying that I never liked big hair. I spent countless hours and dollars trying to tame my hair into submission, and although the Texas humidity was against me, I usually won. I relished the short Texas winters when my hair was well behaved without much effort; and when I moved to New York my hair and I both embraced the lower humidity levels and breathed a sigh of relief.

Then four years ago I decided to transition to my natural hair texture. At first there wasn’t much difference as I was having my new growth pressed to match my straight relaxed hair. My hair was a little fuller, but not big, it just had more volume. After transitioning for a year and a half I finally had my relaxed ends cut off, but continued to get my hair pressed. When I finally started wearing my hair not straight it was always in a flexi rod set, which enabled me to sport these sleek, 3b ringlets, which were full- but not really big. It was not until my second big chop in march of this year (due to heat damage, that sleekness comes at a price) that I started sporting my own coils and curls heat free. And you guessed it, I had BIG hair! I mean gravity defying, up and out, OMG what am I gonna do BIG HAIR. I am not embarrassed to admit (because I know I’m not alone) I didn’t leave my house for two weeks. I made up every excuse in the world to not go out…let’s just say I was very “ill” for awhile. My despair not only came from the sheer height and girth of my hair, but from my complete lack of knowledge of what to do with it. The chemically relaxed hair I had spent the better part of my life mastering was now gone, and what was left was this mass of unfamiliar cottony coils that seemed to have a mind of their own; and like to express themselves in a BIG way.

Initially I wore my hair in slick backed pony tails (as slick as I could manage) after months of this I began to slowly venture into twist outs and bantu knot out, then into curly fro- hawks, then into curly fros. The more I learned, the more I wanted to experiment. The more I experimented the bolder I got. The bolder I got, guess what, the bigger I wanted my hair! I began to realize that the accepting my hair for what it is (kinks, coils, curls and all) also meant accepting that natural hair is naturally BIG. When I first began my hair journey I focused on the transition of my hair, but unexpectedly my mind followed. As I began to accept my hair, this delightful acceptance extended to myself, the size of my hair (big or small) was an extension of me- and was therefore perfect as is, just because it was mine. Now I don’t mind big hair at all, in fact I rather love my big hair!

Naturals embrace your big hair, and don’t care what anyone other than you thinks about it!

 

Xoxo hippiechicchick

 

