So anyone that has discussed natural hair with me knows what bentonite clay is, knows that i LOVE it, and of all the tools in my natural hair and beauty arsenal, this clay is one of my favorites!  Now I’ll start by saying,  I’m not a “if you can’t be with the one you love, love the one your with”, kind of girl.  If I find something I’m absolutely in love with, and works wonders for me- I stick with it, and don’t stray easily.  So it took a while for all the buzz surrounding the rhassoul clay in the natural hair community finally caught my attention, and true to my nature prompted me to start researching, here’s what I found…

 Rhassoul Clay

 Rhassoul clay comes from Morocco and sometimes is referred to as Moroccan Ghassoul Clay, it is naturally found and mined from  deep within the Atlas Mountains in the northeastern region of Morocco.  After the mineral-rich clay is extracted via the mining process it gets washed and sun-dried.

Did you know that rhassoul clay has been used for over 1400 years as a soap, shampoo, and skin conditioner?  I didn’t, and it’s still used today in the finest spas all over the world.

The word rhassoul comes from the Arabic word “rassala” meaning “washing”. Moroccan Rhassoul Clay can be used as detoxifying cleanser, skin conditioner, shampoo, and facial and body mask. It has a number of outstanding benefits that surpass those of other clays because it contains the highest content of silica, magnesium, potassium and calcium, and because of its absorption ability.

Mineral Content

  • Silica- 58%
  • Aluminum- 2.47%
  • Iron- 0.64%
  • Sodium- 2.3%
  • Magnesium- 25.2%
  • Calcium- 2.34%
  • Moisture- <8%

Studies that shown that Moroccan Rhassoul Clay reduces dryness, improves skin clarity and elasticity and has extractive abilities that remove impurities and unblock pores, even stubborn blackheads. As a hair treatment, Moroccan Rhassoul Clay cleanses the hair, removing impurities, and leaves hair bouncy and voluminous.

Clinical studies have shown that a single use of Moroccan Rhassoul: (Although several sites discuss this studies findings, I have been unable to locate the actual study, so am unable to definitively confirm the findings)

  • Reduces dryness (79%)
  • Reduces flakiness (41%)
  • Improves skin clarity (68%)
  • Improves skin elasticity / firmness (24%)
  • Improves skin texture (106%)
  • Removes surface oil and oil from inside and around comedons
  • Removes dead skin layers, resulting in a general smoothing of the surface skin

After my research and the review of one of my favorite YouTubers (Whitney aka Naptural 85) I had to try it for myself!  I purchased Anita Grant’s rhassoul deep conditioning  cubes, which you can find here Anita Grant Rhassoul Deep Conditioning Cubes

I LOVED THEM!!! My hair felt amazing! I did not bother to section my hair prior to application as I usually do when cleansing, and I was rockin’ a 6 day old twist out when I tried this product,  so my hair was far from detangled. I wanted to give it a true test, and it passed wit flying colors!  I applied the clay (after I dissolved the cubes  in warm coconut milk and mixed well) to my hair and after about 5 min I could already feel how much softer my hair was, and my hair was falling apart…easily separating… making tangles non-existent!  I have not to date used any product that has made my hair feel so fantastic.  My love affair with the bentonite clay is not over, but has been diminished in light of this new rival.  I have not decided yet, but I may be switching altogether.  My only issue with the Anita Grant cubes is that they are not vegan (they contain honey) I did not realize this before I got them, but I plan on mixing up my on vegan version of this deep conditioning recipe (I’ll be sure to post once perfected).

As much as I loved the way the clay makes my hair and skin feel,  perhaps the best part about Rhassoul clay is what it does not contain: no petrochemical derivatives, no synthetic preservatives, no surfactants or artificial colors … all of which are common in most soaps, cleansers, and shampoos.  Amazing products that are safe and free from harmful chemicals, makes this hippie chick very happy!

References:

http://www.mountainroseherbs.com/learn/rhassoul.php

