I focus quite a bit on hair care, but today I want  to talk about skin.  Skin care is a beauty essential!  We so often focus on makeup products to make our skin appear fabulous and neglect the skin underneath.  If you want beautiful glowing skin forget the expensive cosmetics ( although I have them myself) and try some of these natural treasures for a beautiful face.  Of course diet is the most essential factor to gorgeous skin, but if your not quite up to par with your diet – here are some easy chemical free options to help revitalize your skin and get back your glow!

Natural Essentials For Your Beauty Regimen

1.  Oatmeal soothes dry, irritated skin

2. Cucumber, yogurt, avocado and honey moisturize

3.  Aloe vera, is a great moisturizer, and According to Shalini Vadhera, author of “Passport to Beauty,” aloe vera gel reflects as much as            20 percent of the sun’s harmful UV rays.

4.  Jojoba, also a moisturizer, is an antioxidant

5.  Tea tree helps treat acne and oily skin

6. Clay help cleanse pores and detoxify skin

7. Sugar works as an exfoliant

These are just a few natural wonders to keep on hand, but there are many more.  I will be posting more of my favorite mixtures, but here a few to get you started.

Honey-Cocoa Butter Lip Balm

2 tbls. olive oil
1/2 tsp. honey (I have not tried this recipe with agave nectar yet)
3/4 tsp. beeswax — grated
1/2 tsp. pure cocoa butter
Flavored oil of your choice (like peppermint or vanilla)
1/4 tsp of vitamin E oil

  •  In a small saucepan, heat oil, honey, wax and butter over a low heat until just melted.
  •  Remove from heat and allow to cool for 2-3 minutes.
  •  Stir in flavoring and contents of vitamin E capsule.
  •  Pour into containers of your choice.

Mayonnaise-Coconut Oil Dry Skin Treatment

Makes 1 application

2 tablespoons real mayonnaise ( you can use Vegenaise as a vegan option)

1 teaspoon coconut oil

 Blend both ingredients.

  •  Smooth onto face, neck, rough elbows and knees or anywhere else you feel might benefit from it.
  •  Leave for 20 minutes.
  •  Rinse off thoroughly with tepid water.  If you like you follow with jojoba or coconut oil.

Tightening/Toning Lemon Egg White Mask (Vegetarian)

Makes 1 application

Juice from a lemon 1 1/2 Tbsp
1 egg white

  •  Beat together the egg white and lemon juice for 3 minutes.
  •  Apply directly to your face, avoiding the eyes.
  •  Leave on for 30 minutes.
  •  Rinse off with warm water.

Confessions of a Vegan

Due to some recent life stressors I have become reacquainted with an old friend (or foe) – milk chocolate.  I have “broken vegan hedge” for the first time in a year.  It was more than once or twice, the vegany police would have surely revoked my vegan powers and hauled me away. (Just for the record in spite of what my friend J thinks I did not become a vegan for the super powers)  I digress, the reason for this confession is the lovely glowing skin I’ve had since becoming a vegan is less bright and less clear.  I have been riddled with acne break outs over the past 2 1/2 weeks.  Now sure hormones and stress play a role, but I would get occasionally stressed and monthly hormonal before the milk chocolate and my face bore no ill effects…so I’m back off the chocolate and working to repair the damage.  I’ll be posting some of the natural acne remedies I found as well as some great natural ways to lighten hyperpigmentation secondary to inflammation (dark marks from the old zits).  So stay posted!

XOXO HippieChicChick

